The Blackwood Football Club has a new Moulden Medallist. Nick Homburg has become the 18th Moulden Medallist after taking out the count at last Friday’s presentations at the Highway Hotel.

Polling 41 votes across the opening half of the season, Homburg sat in second place behind Daniel Benson at the half way point of the season. With a dominate final five rounds where he polled a total of 56 votes, Homburg secured his first medal by 39 votes. Finishing in second and third place was Scott Bricknell (64 votes) and Kurt Thompson (60 votes). In fourth place was Matt Tuck with 59 votes whilst Daniel Benson rounded out the top five polling 56 votes.

The Moulden Medal votes were cast after each A-Grade minor round game with three individuals having a maximum of 15 votes to give in a 5-4-3-2-1 system.

Unfortunately Homburg was not able to attend the medal count but issued an acceptance speech. “I am incredibly grateful to have been able to play for the Blackwood Football Club and I am humbled to accept this award.”

He also spoke about how much work it takes to achieve the ultimate success and playing football to enjoy it. “Play football with a smile on your face. If we as a playing group can commit to working hard to achieve team success and also commit to enjoying the process together, the results will come.”

In the B Grade Elliot Modra received the best player award polling 79 votes to finish seven ahead of Moe Milsom in second place whilst Jonathon Grimes finished in third place with 65 votes. Daniel Martens rounded out his outstanding season in the C Grade taking out the best player award on 70 votes, some 25 votes ahead of Jackson Ratcliffe-Miller.

The full list of award winners on the evening included:

Moulden Medallist – Nick Homburg

Runner Up Moulden Medallist – Scott Bricknell

Leading Goal Kicker – Phil Hopton

Team Player of the Year – Jake Atkinson

Coaches Award – Matt Tuck

Simon Byrne Most Courageous Award – Daniel Benson

Player of the Finals – Ben Macreadie

Best Player – Elliot Modra

Runner Up – Moe Milsom

Leading Goal Kicker – Adam Greaves

Team Player of the Year – Jonathon Grimes

Coaches Award – Ryder Tatarelli

Player of the Finals – Luke Hocking

Best Player – Daniel Martens

Runner Up – Jackson Ratcliffe-Miller

Leading Goal Kicker – Patrick Mackay

Team Player of the Year – Luke King

Coaches Award – Alex Cooper

Player of the Finals – Daniel Martens

Watchman Award – Jones Family

Les Gillard Award – Franca Williams

Peter Roberts Award – Ben Scott

A full round by round count of each grand can be found by clicking the links below.