Kurt Thompson has become only the second player to win back-to-back-back Moulden Medals after taking out the count on Friday the 6th of October at the 2017 Moulden Medal held at the Highway.

Thompson becomes only the second player to achieve a 3-peat of Moulden Medal after Simon McCormick did so in 2009, 2010 and 2011. He also joins John Brumpton as one of only three players to win three A-Grade best and fairest with Brumpton winning the Moyle Medal in 1988 and Moulden Medals in 1993 and 1995.

There was a tie for second place, with Alec Parker Medalist for his performance in the Grand Final Scott Bricknell and 2017 recruit Nick Homburg polling 92 votes. In fourth place was Ryan Anderson with 77 votes whilst Michael Minuzzo rounded out the top 5 polling 66 votes.

The Moulden Medal votes were cast after each A-Grade minor round game with three individuals having a maximum of 15 votes to give in a 5,4,3,2,1 system.

Winning a third straight Moulden Medal capped off a remarkable season from Thompson, after failing to poll in the opening match and missing Round 3 with a rib injury he polled his first votes in Round 4 against Lobethal. From that Round on he only failed to poll in Round 17 against Hahndorf which he didn’t play in. Thompson picked up the maximum 15 votes in three matches including twice against Onkaparinga Valley in Rounds 5 and 14 and in Round 10 against Mt Barker.

Thompson acknowledged the honour of winning the medal “after a fantastic family and fantastic club. He stated “this club is honestly the best club I have been a part of. Everyone loves each other from C-Grade to A-Grade and even down to the juniors, it’s one family.”

He also acknowledged the tireless work of the board and volunteers around the club stating “from a Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday your work doesn’t go unnoticed. Thank you.”

Thompson also coaching staff including A-Grade coach Damien Salievic saying “From the minute I walked into the club everyone couldn’t speak highly enough of you and what happened this year just reiterates that.”

Finally he thanked his wife Kimberly saying “it’s been a pretty good year, having got married, winning a flag and having a baby due. Thank you for putting up with me during the football season.”

The full list of award winners on the evening included:

A Grade

  • Moulden Medal – Kurt Thompson (107 votes)
  • Runner(s) up – Scott Bricknell & Nick Homburg (92 votes)
  • Player of the finals – Ryan Anderson
  • Team-man – Michael Minuzzo & Steve Woods
  • Coaches award – Matt Tuck and Matt Waldron
  • Leading goal kicker – Ryan Dijksman (38 goals)
  • Simon Byrne award – Ryan Anderson

B Grade

  • Best and Fairest – Chris Williams (77 votes)
  • Runner up – Sam Fotheringham (67 votes)
  • Player of the finals – Nathan Dunn
  • Team-man – Tom Radford
  • Coaches award – Mitch Smith & Ryder Tatarelli
  • Leading goal kicker – Matt Thomas (39 goals)

C Grade

  • Best and Fairest – Mitchell Standley (60 votes)
  • Runner up – Luke King (56 votes)
  • Player of the finals – Mitchell Standley & Ben King
  • Team-man – Luke King
  • Coaches award – Harry Hart
  • Leading goal kicker – Adam Dundon (38 goals)

Club Awards

  • Les Gillard award – Peter Lewis
  • Peter Roberts award – Darren Cock
  • Watchman award – Damien Venning

Photos of the award winners can be found by clicking on the link below:

A full round by round count of each grand can be found by clicking the links below.